I didn’t quit my job, I quit my supervisor

Standard

Yesterday marked a week at my new job.  I haven’t really spoken much of my work life through my blog, but I was a paralegal/legal assistant at a law firm working with medical malpractice defense attorneys up until last week.  Last Wednesday was my last day at that job, and last Thursday I started a new position at another law firm (Plaintiff’s side) that deals mainly with workers’ comp and personal injury, as well as a few random medical malpractice cases mixed in.

So, why did I leave my other position?  Two words- my supervisor.  There were a few other factors at play, but the most important reason I left was because of my supervisor.  The attorneys I worked with were wonderful, our clients were always very thankful and I felt a great deal of accomplishment when we achieved defense verdicts in trial.  I had many very rewarding moments, such as the times when I climbed the ladder from a transcriptionist to a legal secretary and finally to a legal assistant/paralegal.  I genuinely enjoyed the work I did, even if it meant staring at medical records day after day and summarizing them.

But there was so much negativity and nepotism in the office that I continuously brought home with me.  I was always in a bad mood when I got home, and often I would get into fights with my fiancé or I would cry out of frustration because I didn’t feel like I was being appreciated for all of my hard work (note: I wasn’t being appreciated by my supervisor; I was from my attorneys).  I began to spend my entire lunch complaining with two of my closest friends at the firm.  There were many days when I felt like I just couldn’t do it anymore.  I was belittled in private, screamed at in a meeting in front of other administrative staff when it should have been a private conversation, and constantly undermined with my skills.  The worst part is that no one could speak up for me or the several other people who quit before me for the same reason, because my supervisor was going to be there as long as the managing partner was there.  Despite all of the negativity and constant belittling of me and other newer employees and our skill sets, nothing was done and as far as I know will never be done.

I could give you an example of one of my friends at the office who had it worse than I did, but I’m sure you already know someone like this who is currently in a similar situation that I was in.  My point is this- If you’re currently stuck in a position where you dread going to work every day, where you’re constantly belittled or looked down on instead of being encouraged, you need to leave.  You have to get yourself out of there and do what’s best for you.

I will never criticize my previous employer for not teaching me enough or giving me enough opportunities.  I had the support of my wonderful attorneys and other paralegals who I truly miss, I was able to work my way up the ladder (and rather quickly, at that), and I expanded on my skills while I was there.  Without them, I would have never been able to get a new position at another law firm.

I have only been at my new job for a week, and I’m already happier than I have been in my career thus far.  I have been praised (by the whole office) for waiting until one of our med malpractice trials was over to start my new position so I wouldn’t leave my attorneys in the dust, and I’ve also been praised for my work ethic and how efficiently I can get tasks accomplished.  I also now am able to take an hour lunch where I can do what I truly love the most- write (and plan a wedding), and I get to leave a half hour earlier than at my previous job which allows me more time in the evenings to spend with my fiancé and to run (another passion of mine).  Not to mention I get my own office that I can decorate any way that I like.

Moral of this story is to keep your happiness in sight, ladies and gents, and if you’re truly unhappy with where you are in life, make a much needed change.  Who knows, it may be the best thing to happen to you.

Best,

Emily

Leave a comment